Skip to Content
 
With our assistance, in 1995, the Susanville Indian Rancheria was one of the first tribes to assume all available tribal shares under Title I of the ISDEAA from the IHS in 1995 and then successfully litigate the right to continued full funding of those shares against the IHS.

Tribal Affairs

Tribal Constitutions & Codes

  • Provide counsel to tribes and tribal organizations on how to strengthen constitutions to lay a stronger foundation for economic and political development.
  • Present workshops on best practices within Indian Country for the processes of reform to maximize citizen participation and understanding.
  • Advise and assist tribes on the process of re-examining outdated tribal constitutions.
  • Draft, revise and interpret codes and ordinances including those for:

Tribal Sovereignty, Jurisdiction & Intergovernmental Relations

  • Represent tribes on matters related to promoting and defending tribal sovereignty.
  • Provide counsel, advice and assistance to tribes to resolve conflicts between federal, state and tribal governments.

Tribal Affairs

For over two decades Hobbs Straus has worked side by side with tribal councils to advance their causes and further their own development. We have assisted our tribal clients on such varied issues as tribal infrastructure, land use claims and protection, election and campaign law, jurisdiction and intergovernmental relations.

Attorney Biography - F. Michael Willis

Partner
Tel: 202.822.8282
Fax: 202.296.8834
Email: mwillis@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Geoffrey D. Strommer

Partner
Tel: 503.242.1745
Fax: 503.242.1072
Email: gstrommer@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Jerry C. Straus

Partner
Tel: 202.822.8282
Fax: 202.296.8834
Email: jstraus@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Christopher T. Stearns

Of Counsel
Tel: 503.242.1745
Fax: 503.242.1072
Email: cstearns@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Gregory A. Smith

Partner
Tel: 202.822.8282
Fax: 202.296.8834
Email: gsmith@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Starla K. Roels

Partner
Tel: 503.242.1745
Fax: 503.242.1072
Email: sroels@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Steve D. Osborne

Partner
Tel: 503.242.1745
Fax: 503.242.1072
Email: sosborne@hobbsstraus.com
Syndicate content


© 2010 HOBBS, STRAUS, DEAN & WALKER, LLP
WASHINGTON, DC  |  PORTLAND, OR  |  OKLAHOMA CITY, OK  |  SACRAMENTO, CA  |  ANCHORAGE, AK
X
Loading